Here now in Bishkek

I’m finally here. After almost a 4-hour flight from Copenhagen to Istanbul, a 2-hour layover at Istanbul, and almost a 5-hour flight from Istanbul to Bishkek. To say that I am tired is an understatement. As usual, I was not able to sleep during the entire flight. Even after a hot bath and an hour-long nap, I still feel wasted. I start teaching tomorrow, and boy am I worried I’ll start snoring in class. I guess the jetlag does not help either. Bishkek is 4 hours ahead of Copenhagen. That means that if I can’t sleep early and well tonight, there will be hell to pay tomorrow.

I’m pleasantly surprised by how well everything has gone so far. It was very easy to find my gate Istanbul Atatürk Airport. I only had my backpack as a carry-on, so I did have to go through the trouble of justifying why my carry-on should be carried on instead of checked in for free (I don’t understand why someone would refuse a free check-in of their carry-on though, unless you have breakables or electronics inside). I was approached by a woman who spoke no English about her carry-on. I thought she needed help talking to the airline staff about having her carry-on checked in, so I offered to help her talk to the guy. When she called her friend to help with the translation, it turned out she wanted me to carry her carry-on bag aboard the plane because she had too many carry-ons that she did not want to check in. Super weird. But I politely turned her down and told her that I do not carry bags that are not my own. She went on to ask help from someone else.

Both flights, from Copenhagen and from Istanbul, were uneventful. There was no turbulence. Perhaps, the most happening event that occurred for both my flights was the inability of the flight stewards/stewardesses to completely hand-out passenger drinks and meals before the earlier-row passengers finished their meals and started getting up to go to the toilet. Having seated at row 20C and 5D with Turkish Airlines, I greatly recommend seating near the last row if you need frequent toilet access. The acrobatics required to get pass the trolleys just to get to the toilet was crazy.

But in fairness to Turkish airlines, the food was not bad (and the alcoholic beverages were free!). I had the meatballs to Istanbul and the chicken to Bishkek. The meatballs may not look that appetizing, but it was actually pretty good. In fact, it tasted so much better than the chicken.

Greg and Jaya, colleagues from the university I’m connected here in Bishkek met me at the airport and together, we took a cab to where my “home” for 6 days is going to be. The flat they rented out for me is huuuuge!!! And I have my own living room, my own kitchen, and my own bathroom complete with a Japanese a$$-rinsing toilet and an amazingly big bath tub. They also made me breakfast for me, homemade (and too much for one person!). ❤

After freshening up and resting, I agreed to attend a rap concert with  Greg and Jaya. One of Greg’s friends, Ksenia (who will be interviewing me later for an early morning show), was scheduled to perform. Unfortunately, the 5:30 pm rap concert only began 2 hours later, after all the BMX bicycling competition concluded. We decided to walk around the city instead. According to Jaya, I had about seen most of the city during our walk: the president’s palace, the parliament, the state history museum, the philharmonic hall, the Panfilov park, and many more. The day ended with  dinner at this Jordanian restaurant named Pur:Pur. Food was amazing and wine was pretty good.

October 16, 2016 | Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan

2 thoughts on “Here now in Bishkek

  1. all the best for your lectures! apartment looks really nice. and elphie looks like he’s enjoying the comfort of the bed and pillows. it will be nice to visit bishkek some time in the future and maybe hike the mountains 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

